KJK1LL3R

Anyone Use A Foil Shaver To Shave Head?

Hey guys, I couldn't use the Remington R91 or my Philips SensoTouch 3D rotary shaver to shave my head as both simply caused to much irritation and left me with razor burn on the back of my neck and my temple areas. I've heard that foil shavers are better than rotary shavers for sensitive skin as they require fewer passes. If I'm gonna buy one I'll probably go for a Braun 799cc or a Panasonic LV81 but I'm not sure which is better.

I think you'll find most people here use a rotary shaver, clippers or they wet shave. That could explain the lack of feedback.

I'd love to help, but I have no experience of using foil shavers. I stick by my Remington rotary and Wahl Balding Clippers :)

Yes, I use a 7 Series Braun shaver.

Exactly like you I find rotary shavers irritate, and would agree with what you have heard that foil are superior to rotary.

I would highly recommend a 7 series braun, - superb, quality bit of kit, and does not irritate my head in the slightest.

I also have some control over the length when I shave too... I can pass over the shaver using medium pressure for a longer shave, or, I can stretch the skin and stand the hairs up with my other hand as I shave to get wet-shave close.  Either way the braun leaves a professional even finish :)

Damien, well I have only used a rotary on my face, and that was a while ago... - so cannot make a direct comparison i'm afraid.  I would guess if there is any difference it would be small (although that might be what you want).

What I can tell you is that if I use my foil shaver in the way I described above, ie running my free hand to stretch the skin in front of the Braun, then it goes down to the bone.

I always used to shave my head this way before MHT... and people have mentioned that they believe it's been wet-shaved.