Sign in to follow this  
2mm

SMP suitability? 2mm Buzz Cut currently + pics

Hello all,

I discovered this SMP procedure a couple days ago, and have been thinking about it excitedly ever since. Feels like it might work for me. Was hoping for some others' opinions.

I currently shave my head with a Remington HC4250AU using the "2mm" guide.

I actually really love this haircut, and would probably do something similar if I had a full head of my younger hair. It used to grow into something like a curly 'fro. Not great. Keeping it short is definitely the way to go.

HOWEVER, I've never gone full-on scalp cut. 2mm buzz is the lowest, which I've been doing for 2 years or so.

Would something like my current hair work with SMP, or would I need to cut considerably closer to the scalp?

The pictures are the 2mm buzz + about 4 days of growth. I'm going to shave again tonight, using the 1.5mm guard this time. 

I'm also curious about how SMP would look on my forehead. 

I definitely do NOT want a defined fresh barbershop line across my forehead. 

Looks great for the African and Latino guys, but IMO not so much for the white guys like me. Unfortunately it seems like most of the pictures I see have that clean line look. Any advice or pictures for more of a natural/receding/faded look? My current hairline is perfect, just need more hair!

Thanks for your thoughts! Pics in next post.

Welcome to the forum buddy. 

In my honest opinion, given the thickness of your hair on the sides and back, leaving it at 2mm length won't blend with SMP that well at all, mostly due to the lack of "3d" ness with the areas treated by SMP.  My natural hair colour is as dark as yours, and the max i can go is 2 days growth after using a razor and shaving to the bone.  

My suggestion, really, is for you to shave your down to 0mm and see if you can get used to that look first.  If you can't, then SMP may not be the most viable option for you. 

If you have any other questions, let us know! 

Vin